Skip to content



About Ewha

Ewha News

Ceremony for 70th Anniversary of College of Law and 10th Anniversary of Ewha Law School was Held

Ewha Law School held a ceremony marking “70th Anniversary of College of Law and 10th Anniversary of Ewha Law School” at the Lee Sam-bong Hall of the ECC building on August 23.

Ewha established the Department of Law in 1950, founded the world’s first College of Law in a women’s university in 1996, and opened Ewha Law School in 2009, reinforcing its position as an institution for fostering the nation’s top female legal professionals. The College of Law has set unprecedented records of many “firsts” in the Korean legal profession, producing the nations’ first female lawyer, first constitutionalist, first Constitutional Court justice, and first Minister of Government Legislation. Following this legacy, the College of Law turned out the applicants who passed the National Judicial Examination with the highest scores in 1991 and 2013; ranked fourth in the number of successful applicants for the National Judicial Examination from 2015 to 2017; and ranks among the highest in the ratio of successful applicants for the bar exam among 25 law schools nationwide.

Ewha Law School

In the ceremony participated by more than 200 alumnae, faculty members and students, Dean of Ewha Law School Oh Chongkun introduced the 70-year-long history and current state of the College of Law and Ewha Law School and said, “Nurturing more than 2,000 legal professionals, Ewha Law School will keep trying to establish itself as a law school that produces legal professionals armed with love and service spirit.”