Skip to content





Divisions of Medicine

sns 이메일 홈페이지 이동


Room 101, Medical Science building A





Old customs prohibited women from meeting men outside her own family, making medical care virtually available as doctors of the time were mostly men. Appalled by the medical injustice suffered by Korean women, Mary Scranton, the founder of Ewha established first women’s hospital in 1887. The institution was given its name “Po Ku Nyo Kwan(an institute for protecting and saving women),” by the Emperor Gojong. As the name goes, the hospital worked as light and salt to countless women who suffered. And, succeeding the notion, Ewha Womans University College of Medicine serves as a vanguard in women’s medicine of Korea to this day.

For more than 70 years, Ewha has produced top quality women medical leaders with the educational values of love, devotion and professionalism. Currently, many Ewha College of Medicine graduates work in various renowned institutions such as World Health Organization and Doctors without Borders.

In 2015, Ewha Womans University College of Medicine has 32 departments, including 10 Basic Medical Science and 22 Clinical Medicine.

Ewha Womans University College of Medicine provides professional training to generate future female leaders in the field of medicine. With standards that are on par with global standards in the field of professional medical education, the College aims at achieving international prominence as it trains and prepares students for the medical profession where they can realize their full potential as female physicians.


1887. 10.

Mary F. Scranton, receives financial aid from the Methodist Church and Korea’s first woman’s hospital opens in Jeong-dong, which is the predecessor of the Ewha Womans Unviersity Hospital. Emperor Gojong gives it a name of “Boguyeogwan’ meaning “Caring for and Saving Woman’s Hospital”.

1946. 03.

One year after the nation’s liberation, Ewha became the first four-year university to be officially accredited by the government. Ewha boldly introduced disciplines considered unsuitable for women at the time, such as medicine, law, science and journalism.

2007. 03.

Ewha Womans University College of Medicine changed to School of Medicine

2010. 02.

Received five years of accreditation from 2nd Cycle Medical College Accreditation of Korean Institute of Medical Education and Evaluation.

2012. 06.

Ewha Medical Care received Health and Welfare Minister's Award.

2015. 01.

School of Medicine received six years of accreditation from 3rd Cycle Medical College Accreditation of Korean Institute of Medical Education and Evaluation.

2015. 03.

School of Medicine converted to College of Medicine