EWHA Portal

Ewha W.UEwha W.U

Open Search
Open Mobile Menu

Ewha W.U

nav bar
Ewha University

Ewha News

Ewha Holds 138th Anniversary Commemoration Ceremony

  • 작성처
  • Date2024.05.31
  • 29398

Ewha held its 138th Anniversary Commemoration Ceremony at the Welch-Ryang Auditorium on Friday, May 31, at 10 a.m. The ceremony, lasting about an hour, began with a commemorative speech by President Eun Mee Kim, followed by the official commendation for faculty members and staff on their 10th, 20th, and 30th year of employment at Ewha, the conferment of the Pride of Ewha Awards, and celebratory performances by the Ewha Choir and the Ewha Orchestra. The event was attended by around 2,000 distinguished guests from inside and outside Ewha, as well as current students.

기념식사를 전하는 김은미 총장In her commemorative speech, President Eun Mee Kim introduced the stories of Lulu E. Frey, Ewha College student Ada Kim, and the International Foundation for Ewha Womans University (IFEWU), describing their contributions to creating the “history of miracles and gratitude” over the past 138 years. Lulu E. Frey, the fourth Principal of Ewha Haktang, led the launch of college courses at Ewha Haktang in 1910. This led to the founding of Ewha College in 1910, producing the nation’s first female college course graduates in 1914, and becoming the first Korean university to receive government accreditation in 1946 after liberation from Japanese colonial rule.

The second person introduced was Ada Kim, who enrolled in the liberal arts program at Ewha College in 1928 and passed away in 1931 after a five-year struggle with illness, praying daily for Ewha College’s relocation from Jeong-dong to Sinchon to her very last moments. In memory of Ada Kim, Principal Appenzeller, the sixth principal of Ewha Haktang, established the Ada Prayer’s Chamber on the third floor of Pfeiffer Hall, a place that is often visited by Ewha students to this day.

Lastly, President Kim introduced the International Foundation for Ewha Womans University, which was launched in New York in 1970 as the first official foundation among Korean universities. Since then, the foundation has provided support for Ewha in various forms, including scholarships. This year, IFEWU Chairperson Mary Ann Swensen, along with the foundation’s board members and benefactors, attended the ceremony in person to share in this meaningful occasion in Ewha's 138-year history.

President Kim then outlined detailed information on the Ewha Historical Compilation Project and the Ewha Future Campus Development Project, both of which are part of the preparations for the school’s 150th anniversary. As the first outcome of the Ewha Historical Compilation Project, which aims to showcase Ewha’s history and spirit to the world, Ewha Womans University Press published a book entitled Familiar Letters of Lulu Frey (Correspondences by Lulu Frey, 1893-1921) as a collection of Frey’s quotes and letters. Moreover, under the Ewha Future Campus Development Project, Helen Hall will be converted into a cutting-edge library based on new media, and the Human Ecology Building (Morris Hall) will be transformed into the Ewha West Campus, housing the College of Science & Industry Convergence, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, and College of Artificial Intelligence to drive convergence research, industry-academia collaboration, and entrepreneurship.

Additionally, the 22nd Pride of Ewha Awards were awarded to Kim Taelyon, President of aicorea and Professor Emerita of the Department of Psychology at Ewha, for her long-standing achievements in psychology and education, and alumna Whang Hye Kyung, who persevered through personal adversity to found the Purme Foundation through her donations. The Pride of Ewha Award is granted to alumnae who have made outstanding contributions in various fields of society to exemplify the spirit of Ewha.

이화 창립 138주년 기념식 개최 김은미 총장과 이화국제재단 메리 앤 스웬슨 회장(오른쪽)Organized by Ewha Alumnae Association, the Alumnae Day event took place at the Welch-Ryang Auditorium at 2 p.m. The event commenced with remarks by President Lee Myeong-gyeong of Ewha Alumnae Association, followed by a reunion of alumnae celebrating their 50th and 30th anniversaries of graduation, the selection of Ewha Forever Family and Ewha Family of the Year, the presentation of the nineth Light of Ewha Awards, and a choir festival.